Kent-area students receive awards | School briefs

Amy Nguyen - Courtesy photo
Amy Nguyen
— image credit: Courtesy photo

For the Reporter

Kentridge High School's Amy Nguyen and Kent-Meridian's Kendra Nelson are among the 90 recipients of the Comcast Foundation's annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program awards.

Nguyen activities included the National Association for College Admission Seattle College Fair; YUDA Bands youth leadership program; Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA); and a considerable time in middle and high school orchestra. She has held many offices in Key Club, where she helped plan the annual Pacific Northwest Key Club District Convention. She received the Robert F. Lucas Outstanding Lieutenant Governor Award.

Nelson's activities included math tutoring; the Seattle Symphony Guild; Vacation Bible Camp; gymnastics and fastpitch. Her leadership roles include president of the video production club, where she served as the executive producer of the school's weekly news and entertainment program, Royals Week-In Review. Her awards include the American Association of University Women Certificate of Excellence in Technology.

Students were honored at a June 5 ceremony at the Governor's Mansion in Olympia.

"This year's scholarship winners demonstrate exemplary commitment to leadership in both their classrooms and community," said Len Rozek, senior vice president of Comcast in Washington. "We are proud to recognize their achievements, and are excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys."

The program provides $1,000 scholarships to students who strive to achieve their potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students.

To learn more, visit


Kent's Robert Feeley and Ibrahima Niang made the spring dean's list at Carroll College (Helena, Mont.). To be included on the dean's list, a student must receive a 3.5 grade point average or better for the semester and take at least 12 credits. ...

Kent's Jack W. Freeman (junior, mechanical engineering); Kyle Howlett (sophomore, mechanical engineering); Teresa A. Lampert (sophomore, business administration); Elizabeth C. Mills (junior, biology); John J. Perko (senior, mechanical engineering); and Brenton A. Roggenbach (freshman, business administration) made the spring semester dean's list at Saint Martin's University. To earn academic honors, undergraduate students must receive a 3.5 grade point average or higher and carry at least a 12-semester-hour course load. ...

Kent's Noah Palmer (Aviation), Sam Hubbard (Kentlake) and Tyler Midkiff (Kentridge) are among the high school juniors who will participate in the Washington Aerospace Scholars program this summer. They will participate in one of the four WAS summer residency sessions held in June and July at the Museum of Flight. WAS is a competitive educational program designed to connect high school juniors with educational and career opportunities in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics through independent learning, hands-on interaction, professional guidance and site-based tours. ...

Kentwood's Brian Lunder was awarded a $1,500 Lynden Memorial Scholarships. Lunder will study computer science at the University of Washington. Lunder was a is track and cross country captain, an Eagle Scout, and a Washington Aerospace Scholar. ...

Kent's Tyler Hansen also was awarded a $1,500 Lynden Memorial Scholarships. Hansen attends the University of Arizona, where he is pursuing his master's in accounting. Hansen will be graduating summa cum laude in three years. He has received the Outstanding Academic Achievement in Accounting Award, is an Eller College Centurion, and a member of the Accounting Students Association. ...

Kent's Kelsey Kecherson made the spring semester dean's list at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Prescott, Ariz. Kecherson, a 2010 Kentridge graduate, is an aerospace engineer major. ... Emily Kecherson made the provost's/dean's list at Hofstra University (Long Island, N.Y.). Emily, a 2013 Kentridge graduate, is a mechanical engineering major. ...

Kent's Nicolle Saucedo and Katherine Rieger are among 10 incoming St. Martin's University freshman who have been selected to serve as part of the third cohort of Benedictine Scholars. Saucedo, a Kent-Meridian High School graduate, plans to study criminal justice. Rieger, a Thomas Jefferson graduate, plans to study mathematics. Each scholar selected for the honor receives a $10,000 renewable scholarship.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates