Hargrove takes lead over Simpson in District 47 House race

Republican challenge Mark Hargrove has taken a slight lead over incumbent Geoff Simpson, D-Covington, in the state representative race for Legislative District 47 Position No. 1, according to the Primary Election results.

Hargrove has received 9,805 votes (39.52 percent) and Simpson has 9,597 votes (38.68 percent) through ballots counted as of Aug. 25. Both will advance to the General Election Nov. 2. Republican Nancy Wyatt is third with 5,355 votes (21.58 percent) and will not advance to the General Election.

Simpson held a slight lead over Hargrove when the first results were released last week from the Aug. 17 Primary.

The 47th district covers Kent's East Hill as well as Covington, Black Diamond and portions of Auburn, Renton and Maple Valley.

Election officials had counted 400,889 ballots countywide through Aug. 25, a turnout of 37 percent of registered voters. Election officials have predicted an overall turnout of 45 percent or about 495,000 ballots. County officials will post new results by 4:30 p.m. weekdays until votes are certified Sept. 1.

Republican challenger Joe Fain continues to hold a lead over incumbent Claudia Kauffman, D-Kent in the District 47 Senate race. Fain has 13,875 votes (54.47 percent) and Kauffman has 11,054 votes (44.27 percent). Fain and Kauffman will face off again in November.

In the 47th District Position No. 2 state representative race, incumbent Pat Sullivan, D-Covington, has 13,366 votes (54.44 percent) and Republican challenger Rodrigo Yanez, of Kent, has 11,117 votes (45.28 percent) as they head toward another showdown this fall.

Incumbent Karen Keiser, D-Des Moines, has the lead over Republican challenger Jack Michalek, of Des Moines, in the race for the Senate District 33 seat. Keiser has 10,972 votes (57.65 percent) and Michalek has 8,016 votes (42.12 percent). Both move on to the General Election.

The 33rd district covers the Kent Valley and West Hill as well as SeaTac, Des Moines, Normandy Park and part of Burien.

For more results, see www.kingcounty.gov/elections.aspx.

Primary Election results

(Top 2 advance to General Election)

(results through Aug. 25)

State Senate District 33:

Name Votes Percent

Jack Michalek (R) 8016 42.12

Karen Keiser (D) 10972 57.65

State Senate District 47:

Joe Fain (R) 13875 54.47

Claudia Kauffman (D) 11054 44.27

State Representative

District 47, Position 1:

Nancy Wyatt (R) 5355 21.58

Geoff Simpson (D) 9597 38.68

Mark Hargrove (R) 9805 39.52

State Representative

District 47, Position 2:

Pat Sullivan (D) 13366 54.44

Rodrigo M. Yanez (R) 11117 45.28

State Representative

Dist 33, Position 1

Tina Orwall (D) 12163 94.68

Write-in 684 5.32

State Representative

District 33 Position 2

Dave Upthegrove (D) 12497 95.14%

Write-in 639 4.86

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates