Initial filings draw primary race for Kent mayor

  • Wed May 17th, 2017 4:00pm
  • News

The race to become the next Kent mayor officially kicks off this week as candidates filed for office with King County Elections.

City Council members Jim Berrios and Dana Ralph, as well as former City Councilwoman Elizabeth Albertson and political newcomer Andrew Swansen, each filed to succeed Suzette Cooke as mayor. Cooke decided not to seek a fourth four-year term. Her term ends Dec. 31.

The two candidates with the most votes in the Aug. 1 primary election advance to the Nov. 7 general election ballot.

Candidates have until 4:30 p.m. Friday, May 19, to file with King County Elections.

As of noon Wednesday, at the Kent Reporter press deadline, the following candidates also had filed for Kent-area positions.

Satwinder Kaur and Jeff Piecewicz are running for Kent City Council Position No. 2 to replace Berrios.

No other candidates had filed as of noon Wednesday, but through a media release earlier this year Paul Addis said he also plans to run for Position No. 2; Toni Troutner and Tye Whitfield announced they are running for Position No. 4 to replace Dennis Higgins, who decided not to seek another term. Brenda Fincher plans to run to keep her Position No. 6 on the council.

On the Kent School Board, Bryon Madsen and Denise Daniels field for the District No. 4 position. As of noon Wednesday, incumbent Agda Burchard had not filed for re-election. Maya Vengadasalam filed to keep her District No. 5 position.

Dave Upthegrove filed to keep his District No. 5 seat on the King County Council.