Local races: Fain, incumbents moving on

With half of the seats in the state Senate and every seat in the state House up for grabs, Democrats and Republicans appear to be headed to a street-to-street battle this fall to determine who holds the power in Olympia.

In a state where the election rules advance the top two vote-getters in any primary to the general election, regardless of party affiliation, voters in the 47th and 31 Legislative Districts saw few surprises in the early results of the Tuesday, Aug. 7 primary,

In the primary contest for Legislative District 47, state Sen. Joe Fain, R-Auburn, and Mona Das, D-Covington, ran uncontested for their parties nominations, so both advance to the general election.

In the primary for Legislative District 47 State Representative Position 1, incumbent Mark Hargrove, R-Covington, picked up 9.217 votes, or 49.82 percent of the total of 18,501votes available, while Democrat Debra Entenman collected 8,776 votes or 47.44 percent, forecasting a race closer than the incumbent would have preferred, but advancing both to the November general

Finally, in the primary for Legislative District 47 State Representative Position 2, Pat Sullivan, D-Covington, picked up 10,659 or 57.89 percent of the 18,412 total votes available, while while Ted Cooke (R) picked up 4,555, or 24.74, percent, and fellow Republican Lindsey Shumway rolled up 3,198 or 17.37 percent of the vote.

There were no surprises in District 33, which includes SeaTac, Des Moines, Normandy Park and parts of Kent and Burien.

State Sen. Karen Keiser, D-Des Moines, received 68 percent (10,385 votes) to advance to the November election along with Kun Wang, an Independent Republican of Des Moines, who had 25 percent (3,838 votes). Libertarian Charles Schaefer had 6 percent (935 votes). Keiser is in her 22nd years in the Legislature.

State Rep. Mia Su-Ling Gregerson, D-SeaTac, had 65 percent (9,838) to easily lead first-time candidate Anthony Lamb, R-Kent with 34 percent (5,176). Both advance to the general election. Gregerson is seeking a third, two-year term.

State Rep. Tina Orwall, D-Des Moines, is running unopposed.

Voters were approving King County Proposition No. 1, a regular property tax levy for the Automated Fingerprint Identification System Services, with 56 percent (167,424 votes) to 44 percent (131,047) against.

More in News

Most Read