COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs announces 2019 race dates

67-day meet opens April 20, ends Sept. 22

  • Friday, November 9, 2018 3:51pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 67-day live racing season in 2019, with opening day Saturday, April 20, and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 22.

The race dates were approved Friday at the Washington Horse Racing Commission monthly meeting at Emerald Downs, and are nearly identical to last season’s 67-day meeting.

Opening day, April 20, is the lone racing day Easter weekend, followed by Saturday/Sunday racing April 27-28 and May 4-5. Friday racing begins May 10 and continues the remaining 20 weeks of the season.

Post times also remain the same as last season: 2 p.m. Sundays, 6:30 p.m. Fridays, and either 2 p.m. or 5 p.m. Saturdays. The first eight Saturdays, April 20 through June 8, feature a 2 o’clock post and the final 15 Saturdays, June 15 through Sept. 21, feature a 5 o’clock post. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Wednesday, July 3, also begins at 5 p.m.

The 84th Longacres Mile (Grade 3) will be run Sunday, Aug. 11, with the complete 2019 stakes schedule released in January.

2019 Emerald Downs live race days

April (3): Saturday, April 20, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 27, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 28, 2 p.m.

May (13): Saturday, May 4, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 11, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 18, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 25, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Friday May 31, 6:30 p.m.

June (14): Saturday, June 1, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 8, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 30, 2 p.m.

July (13): Wednesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 5, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 6, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 7, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 12, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 13, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 14, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 19, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 20, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 21, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 26, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 27, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 28, 2 p.m.

August (14): Friday, Aug. 2, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 3, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 4, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 9, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 10, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 11, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 16, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 17, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 18, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 23, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 24, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 25, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 30, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 31, 5 p.m.

September (10): Sunday, Sept. 1, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 22, 2 p.m.

More in Sports

New head coach lighting the Chargers’ fuse

McDowell gets the call to lead fully loaded Kentridge to another run at the state playoffs

Stars falls to Fury 6-3 for first loss of season

Perez powers Ontario with four goals

Silvertips thump T-Birds 6-1 | WHL

The Everett Silvertips defeated the Seattle Thunderbirds 6-1 in a Western Hockey… Continue reading

Kent Reporter honors Chargers’ Paznokas, Larson

Kentridge High School’s Owen Paznokas, basketball, is the Kent Reporter’s Male Athlete… Continue reading

Stars coach Darren Sawatzky. COURTESY PHOTO
Stars coach accepts FC Tucson job

Sawatzky led indoor soccer club to success during his three-year run

Chiefs turn back Thunderbirds

Volcan scores two goals in 5-3 loss to Spokane

Volcan hat trick powers Thunderbirds over Cougars

Seattle captain hits 200 points in 6-5 win over Prince George

Kvietkus, McElrea deliver 10K wins at Kent’s 36th annual Christmas Rush Fun Run

Johnny Kvietkus and Erica McElrea topped the men’s and women’s 10K fields… Continue reading

Most Read