COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs announces 2019 race dates

67-day meet opens April 20, ends Sept. 22

  • Friday, November 9, 2018 3:51pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 67-day live racing season in 2019, with opening day Saturday, April 20, and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 22.

The race dates were approved Friday at the Washington Horse Racing Commission monthly meeting at Emerald Downs, and are nearly identical to last season’s 67-day meeting.

Opening day, April 20, is the lone racing day Easter weekend, followed by Saturday/Sunday racing April 27-28 and May 4-5. Friday racing begins May 10 and continues the remaining 20 weeks of the season.

Post times also remain the same as last season: 2 p.m. Sundays, 6:30 p.m. Fridays, and either 2 p.m. or 5 p.m. Saturdays. The first eight Saturdays, April 20 through June 8, feature a 2 o’clock post and the final 15 Saturdays, June 15 through Sept. 21, feature a 5 o’clock post. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Wednesday, July 3, also begins at 5 p.m.

The 84th Longacres Mile (Grade 3) will be run Sunday, Aug. 11, with the complete 2019 stakes schedule released in January.

2019 Emerald Downs live race days

April (3): Saturday, April 20, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 27, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 28, 2 p.m.

May (13): Saturday, May 4, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 11, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 18, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 25, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Friday May 31, 6:30 p.m.

June (14): Saturday, June 1, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 8, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 30, 2 p.m.

July (13): Wednesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 5, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 6, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 7, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 12, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 13, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 14, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 19, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 20, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 21, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 26, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 27, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 28, 2 p.m.

August (14): Friday, Aug. 2, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 3, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 4, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 9, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 10, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 11, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 16, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 17, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 18, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 23, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 24, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 25, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 30, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 31, 5 p.m.

September (10): Sunday, Sept. 1, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 22, 2 p.m.

More in Sports

Three Thunderbirds selected in NHL draft

Panthers pick Rybinski, Wedman; Flyers grab Ross

Stars Youth Summer Camps available

The Tacoma Stars – a Kent-based indoor soccer team – are hosting… Continue reading

Ima Happy Cat and Rocco Bowen clear in the stretch en route to capturing the $50,000 Seattle Stakes last year. COURTESY TRACK PHOTO
$50,000 Washington State Legislators draws big field

There appears to be no shortage of older fillies and mares this… Continue reading

Kids will learn power skating, speed and agility through drills at the T-Birds Skills Camp. MARK KLAAS, Kent Reporter
Sanders to be instructor at Thunderbirds Skills Camp

School on ice returns in August at accesso ShoWare Center

Franklin Ceballos rides Baja Sur to a 1¾-length victory in the $50,000 Coca-Cola Stakes for 3-year-olds at Emerald Downs on Sunday. COURTESY TRACK PHOTO
Baja Sur sharp in $50,000 Coca-Cola Stakes

3-year-olds delivers third stakes win and fourth victory at Auburn track

WIAA drops Tacoma Dome as high school championship football site

Board cites higher costs, new seating arrangement for decision

Stars sign free-agent midfielder Douglas Lima | MASL

The Tacoma Stars have signed MASL veteran midfielder Douglas Lima, the first… Continue reading

Thunderbirds sign second-round draft selection

Seattle Thunderbirds have signed defenseman Spencer Penner to a Western Hockey League… Continue reading

Most Read