COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

COURTESY PHOTO, Emerald Downs

Emerald Downs announces 2019 race dates

67-day meet opens April 20, ends Sept. 22

  • Friday, November 9, 2018 3:51pm
  • Sports

Emerald Downs Racetrack and Casino has announced a 67-day live racing season in 2019, with opening day Saturday, April 20, and continuing through Sunday, Sept. 22.

The race dates were approved Friday at the Washington Horse Racing Commission monthly meeting at Emerald Downs, and are nearly identical to last season’s 67-day meeting.

Opening day, April 20, is the lone racing day Easter weekend, followed by Saturday/Sunday racing April 27-28 and May 4-5. Friday racing begins May 10 and continues the remaining 20 weeks of the season.

Post times also remain the same as last season: 2 p.m. Sundays, 6:30 p.m. Fridays, and either 2 p.m. or 5 p.m. Saturdays. The first eight Saturdays, April 20 through June 8, feature a 2 o’clock post and the final 15 Saturdays, June 15 through Sept. 21, feature a 5 o’clock post. The annual Fireworks Spectacular on Wednesday, July 3, also begins at 5 p.m.

The 84th Longacres Mile (Grade 3) will be run Sunday, Aug. 11, with the complete 2019 stakes schedule released in January.

2019 Emerald Downs live race days

April (3): Saturday, April 20, 2 p.m.; Saturday, April 27, 2 p.m.; Sunday, April 28, 2 p.m.

May (13): Saturday, May 4, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 5, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 10, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 11, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 12, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 17, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 18, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 19, 2 p.m.; Friday, May 24, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 25, 2 p.m.; Sunday, May 26, 2 p.m.; Monday, May 27, 2 p.m.; Friday May 31, 6:30 p.m.

June (14): Saturday, June 1, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 2, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 7, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 8, 2 p.m.; Sunday, June 9, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 14, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 15, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 16, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 21, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 22, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 23, 2 p.m.; Friday, June 28, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, June 29, 5 p.m.; Sunday, June 30, 2 p.m.

July (13): Wednesday, July 3, 5 p.m.; Friday, July 5, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 6, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 7, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 12, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 13, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 14, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 19, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 20, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 21, 2 p.m.; Friday, July 26, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 27, 5 p.m.; Sunday, July 28, 2 p.m.

August (14): Friday, Aug. 2, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 3, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 4, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 9, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 10, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 11, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 16, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 17, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 18, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 23, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 24, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 25, 2 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 30, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 31, 5 p.m.

September (10): Sunday, Sept. 1, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 6, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 7, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 8, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 13, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 14, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 15, 2 p.m.; Friday, Sept. 20, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, Sept. 21, 5 p.m.; Sunday, Sept. 22, 2 p.m.

More in Sports

Chargers rout Royals 69-14 | NPSL football

Payton Thomas ran for three touchdowns and Chance Guadiz threw for three… Continue reading

Unmachable prevails in the Washington Cup Juvenile Colt & Gelding. COURTESY TRACK PHOTO
$100,000 Gottstein Futurity headlines closing day

An overflow field of 13 juveniles were entered in Sunday’s $100,000 Gottstein… Continue reading

KGRG broadcasting prep football from French Field

Green River College radio station doing the call; school program available to students

Denver wins roller derby title at Kent’s ShoWare Center

12 teams competed in Women’s Flat Track Derby Association international playoffs

Kent-based Seattle Mist wins Legends Cup title

Trounces LA Temptation 56-20 at ShoWare Center

Kent’s Gomez pounds out majority decision

Kent welterweight fighter takes first two pro bouts

Kentridge thumps South Kitsap in boys water polo

Kentridge routed South Kitsap 21-3 in a boys water polo match Tuesday… Continue reading

Lightning cancels Kentridge-Enumclaw game | Prep football

A thunderstorm cancelled Kentridge’s North Puget Sound League interdivisional game against Enumclaw… Continue reading

Stars sign venerable defender Salas

The Tacoma Stars have signed MASL veteran Diego Salas to a deal.… Continue reading

Most Read