The Seattle Thunderbirds open the Western Hockey League season Oct. 2 at Portland. Seattle’s first home game is Oct. 9 at the accesso ShoWare Center in Kent. COURTESY PHOTO, Brian Liesse, Thunderbirds

The Seattle Thunderbirds open the Western Hockey League season Oct. 2 at Portland. Seattle’s first home game is Oct. 9 at the accesso ShoWare Center in Kent. COURTESY PHOTO, Brian Liesse, Thunderbirds

Seattle Thunderbirds release WHL regular season schedule

Home opener Oct. 9 at ShoWare Center in Kent; season opener Oct. 2 at Portland

The Kent-based Seattle Thunderbirds released their Western Hockey League 2021-2022 regular season schedule, which runs from Oct. 2 through April 2.

Seattle plays its home games at the accesso ShoWare Center. The arena currently continues as a King County-operated COVID-19 vaccination site, Wednesday through Saturday. That will end July 18.

With the anticipated lifting of health restrictions in Washington, the T-Birds will play a 68-game schedule with full capacity in a fan-friendly and safe environment at the ShoWare Center.

The T-Birds open the regular season on the road against the Portland Winterhawks at 6 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 2, at Veterans Memorial Coliseum.

Seattle’s home opener is at 6:05 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 9, against the Winterhawks.

The T-Birds will have 13 Saturday home games, 10 on Fridays, six Tuesdays, three Sundays and two Wednesdays. Saturday home games will begin at 6:05 p.m. Friday games will start at 7:35 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday games are at 7:05 p.m. and Sunday games are at 5:05 p.m.

All six Tuesday games will feature 2-for-1 tickets, concession specials on hot dogs, popcorn, and soda, and 2-for-1 beer purchases.

The WHL playoffs will begin on Friday, April 8 with the reintroduction of the conference playoff format.

Division winners in each conference will receive the top two playoff seeds based on regular season points. The next six clubs in each conference will receive the third to eighth playoff positions.

Single-game tickets will go on sale on a date close to Labor Day online on the T-Birds website and at the accesso ShoWare Center box office, 625 W. James St.

All games will be broadcast on 1090 KJR radio and streamed live on the 1090 KJR website.

T-Birds regular season schedule

October

Saturday, October 2 @ Portland, 6:00 pm

Saturday, October 9 vs. Portland, 6:05 pm

Friday, October 15 vs. Everett, 7:35 pm

Saturday, October 16 @ Everett, 6:05 pm

Tuesday, October 19 vs. Victoria, 7:05 pm

Saturday, October 23 vs. Kelowna, 6:05 pm

Tuesday, October 26 @ Prince George, 7:00 pm

Wednesday, October 27 @ Prince George, 7:00 pm

Friday, October 29 @ Kamloops, 7:00 pm

Saturday, October 30 @ Kelowna, 7:05 pm

November

Friday, November 5 @ Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Saturday, November 6 vs. Everett, 6:05 pm

Friday, November 12 vs. Portland, 7:35 pm

Saturday, November 13 @ Everett, 6:05 pm

Friday, November 19 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Saturday, November 20 vs. Kamloops, 6:05 pm

Sunday, November 21 @ Everett, 4:05 pm

Wednesday, November 24 vs. Kamloops, 7:05 pm

Saturday, November 27 vs. Tri-City, 6:05 pm

Tuesday, November 30 vs. Prince George, 7:05 pm

December

Friday, December 3 vs. Victoria, 7:35 pm

Saturday, December 4 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Tuesday, December 7 vs. Kelowna, 7:05 pm

Friday, December 10 @ Kamloops, 7:00 pm

Saturday, December 11 @ Kelowna, 7:05 pm

Tuesday, December 14 @ Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Friday, December 17 vs. Everett, 7:35 pm

Saturday, December 18 @ Everett, 6:05 pm

Tuesday, December 28 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Wednesday, December 29 vs. Spokane, 7:05 pm

Friday, December 31 @ Portland, TBD

January

Wednesday, January 5 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Friday, January 7 @ Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Saturday, January 8 vs. Spokane, 6:05 pm

Friday, January 14 vs. Portland, 7:35 pm

Saturday, January 15 vs. Everett, 6:05 pm

Friday, January 21 vs. Spokane, 7:35 pm

Saturday, January 22 @ Portland, 6 pm

Sunday, January 23 vs. Tri-City, 5:05 pm

Tuesday, January 25 vs. Spokane, 7:05 pm

Friday, January 28 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Saturday, January 29 vs. Portland, 6:05 pm

Sunday, January 30 @ Everett, 4:05 pm

February

Friday, February 4 vs. Prince George, 7:35 pm

Saturday, February 5 vs. Vancouver, 6:05 pm

Sunday, February 6 @ Vancouver, 4:00 pm

Friday, February 11 @ Victoria, 7:05 pm

Saturday, February 12 @ Victoria, 7:05 pm

Tuesday, February 15 vs. Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Friday, February 18 vs. Spokane, 7:35 pm

Saturday, February 19 @ Portland, 6:00 pm

Friday, February 25 @ Spokane, 7:05 pm

Saturday, February 26 vs. Everett, 6:05 pm

Sunday, February 27 vs. Spokane, 5:05 pm

March

Friday, March 4 @ Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Saturday, March 5 @ Everett, 6:05 pm

Sunday, March 6 vs. Tri-City, 5:05 pm

Wednesday, March 9 @ Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Friday, March 11 vs. Portland, 7:35 pm

Saturday, March 12 vs. Everett, 6:05 pm

Tuesday, March 15 vs. Tri-City, 7:05 pm

Saturday, March 19 vs. Portland, 6:05 pm

Sunday, March 20 @ Portland, 5:00 pm

Friday, March 25 @ Vancouver, 7:30 pm

Saturday, March 26 vs. Vancouver, 6:05 pm

Sunday, March 27 @ Tri-City, 4:05 pm

April

Friday, April 1 vs. Tri-City, 7:35 pm

Saturday, April 2 @ Portland, 6:00 pm


Talk to us

Please share your story tips by emailing editor@kentreporter.com.

To share your opinion for publication, submit a letter through our website https://www.kentreporter.com/submit-letter/. Include your name, address and daytime phone number. (We’ll only publish your name and hometown.) Please keep letters to 300 words or less.

More in Sports

t
Kent’s Christmas Rush walk and run coming up Dec. 10 at Hogan Park

40th year of event; register online for 5K and 10K

Federal Way senior QB Jay O’Neil has his eyes set on the Skyline Spartans. Ben Ray/Sound Publishing
Federal Way football preps for state appearance Saturday, Nov. 12

No Kent school makes state; Federal Way plays Skyline Spartans in 4A tournament

Prep sports: Kent gymnastics teams get ready to vault into winter season

Coming up on the horizon for winter sports in Kent is gymnastics.… Continue reading

t
T-Birds to play hockey game at Climate Pledge Arena in Seattle

Dec. 27 game against Spokane Chiefs moved to NHL venue from ShoWare Center in Kent

T
Wrestling: 2022 Kent season preview

Every school in Kent had at least one wrestler qualify for last season’s Mat Classic.

Jonathan Borte (ball in hand) stands next to Jake Davies warming up before their first game against Emerald Ridge. Photo by Ben Ray/Sound Publishing
Kentridge grads launch water polo program

There are 18 sports sanctioned by the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA) — but water polo is not one of them.

t
Red-hot, Kent-based Seattle Thunderbirds start season with 8 victories

Have outscored last three opponents 26-6 to sit atop Western Hockey League

Federal Way’s Madison Mulipola on the attack in the third set of their match with Kentwood. Photo by Ben Ray/Sound Publishing
Prep volleyball: Kentwood takes down Federal Way in four sets

The Kentwood Conquerors took down the Federal Way High School Eagles on… Continue reading

Courtesy photo
Kentridge takes down Decatur on Sept. 16 (RPI 23).
Prep sports: South Sound teams dominate state’s Rating Percentage Index

System allows players, fans and coaches to see how their local sports teams measure up.

Top seed Cole Fredericks of Kentlake serving in his first match Oct. 14. Photo by Ben Ray/Sound Publishing
Prep tennis: Kent schools have good showing at district tournaments

The tennis regular season ended for the NPSL on Oct. 11, and… Continue reading

Kent-Meridian Junior Kyle Brown goes up for a jump ball in the 32-29 victory. 
Ben Ray
Sound Publishing
Football: Kent-Meridian wins thriller over Thomas Jefferson

History was made inside Federal Way Memorial Stadium on Friday, Oct. 14.… Continue reading