Voters return three incumbents to Kent City Council

Latest count shows one race closer but outcome unchanged from first results

One race drew closer but the outcome remained the same as voters returned three incumbents to the Kent City Council and elected one newcomer.

Incumbent Les Thomas led challenger Hira Singh Bhullar by about 11 percentage points after the first general election results were released Nov. 5 by King County Elections. A week later, Thomas had 52.16 percent (11,593 votes) while Bhullar tallied 47.5 percent (10,560), according to results released Nov. 12. Thomas will be back in January to begin his 17th year on council.

Incumbents Bill Boyce and Marli Larimer also will return next year. Boyce had 65.77 percent (14,530) while Mizan Rahman had 33.92 percent (7,493). Larimer received 55.67 percent (12,023) while Todd Minor had 44.02 percent (9,506).

Zandria Michaud will be the only newcomer to the seven-member council. She had 58.11 percent (12,421) while Awale Farah tallied 41.19 percent (8,804).

The city of Kent has 64,645 registered voters. A total of 24,821 voters returned ballots through Nov. 11, a turnout of 38 percent, according to King County Elections statistics.

Positions on the council are considered part-time jobs and pay $15,564 a year.

Boyce, the council president, will start his ninth year in office in January. Larimer will begin her second year. The council appointed Larimer in 2018 to replace Tina Budell, who moved to Chicago for a new job.

Michaud will replace Dennis Higgins, who was appointed by the council to finish out now-Mayor Dana Ralph’s term, but decided not to run. Because Michaud will replace an appointed council member, she actually will take office after King County certifies the election on Nov. 26. Michaud’s first regular council meeting will be Dec. 10. She also will participate in a council Committee of the Whole meeting on Dec. 3.

Voters elected Higgins to four-year terms in 2009 and 2013. His final regular meeting will be Nov. 19, which will conclude his 10 years in office.

Council members Brenda Fincher, Toni Troutner and Satwinder Kaur each have two years remaining on their terms, which expire the end of 2021. Mayor Ralph has two years left on her first term.

Talk to us

Please share your story tips by emailing

To share your opinion for publication, submit a letter through our website Include your name, address and daytime phone number. (We’ll only publish your name and hometown.) Please keep letters to 300 words or less.

More in News

Kent Police Blotter: July 30-Aug. 9

Shots fired incidents dominate list

Protesters of fatal police shootings rally at Auburn Justice Center

Demands include for city of Auburn to cut its police budget by half

Free food boxes to be distributed Aug. 14-15 in Kent

Event at ShoWare Center parking lot

Two lanes of Pacific Highway South in Kent to close nights of Aug. 17-21 and Aug. 24-28

Crews to do utility work for Sound Transit light rail extension

Group plans petition drive to recall Kent School Board members

Claims board has not ‘performed their duties in accordance with the laws of the state’

Federal Way postpones first day of school to Sept. 8

District is preparing for a possible $22.6M revenue loss due to declining enrollments, reduction in funding.

Fill the Bus school supply drive in Kent set for Aug. 20

Drop off donations at Kent Station and other locations

Kent Police Chief Rafael Padilla invites the crowd to take a knee with him on the lawn of the Maleng Regional Justice Center on June 11 prior to a protest march along downtown streets after the death of George Floyd, who was killed by a Minneapolis police officer. STEVE HUNTER, Kent Reporter
Kent Police plan equity and social justice reform

Chief Padilla meeting with City Council, mayor, community to come up with resolution

Most Read